Heritage Walk - Madurai
by Admin On 30/06/2015 - 4:09 PM
THIRUMALAI NAYAKKAR MAHAL
Thirumalai Nayak Palace is a 17th century palace was built by King Thirumalai Nayak, one of the Madurai Nayak rulers in 1636 AD in the city of Madurai, India. This Palace was built with the help of an Italian Architect and is a classic fusion of Dravidian, Islamic and European styles. The building, which can be seen today, was the main Palace where the king lived. The original Palace Complex was four times bigger than the present structure.
10 pillars in the northern part of the palace, each pillar measures 40 feet in length and 4 feet in diameter. Now this part is popularly known as 'Pathuthoon'. These pillars are the remaining portion of Renga Vilasa, the residential quarters of Muthiyaly Nayak
CARVINGS IN TEMPLE CAR
A half constructed entrance called ‘Vitta Vassal’, is seen. It is believed to be a remnant of the thirteenth century fort wall of Pandya kingdom
Construction of Pudhu Mandapam began in 1628 when Thirumalai Naick decided he wanted to build a structure in honour of Lord Sundareswarar. The 124 unique and intricately designed pillars of the hall are unrivalled in architectural history. Sculptures of Meenakshi, Shiva and Nayak kings stand against the 40-foot pillars as they create an optical illusion of sorts.
THOUSAND PILLAR HALL
Photograph of the unfinished Raya Gopuram in the Meenakshi Sundareshwarar Temple of Madurai. If it has been finished it would have been the largest pillar in South India